Home / Jigawa / 13 states to APC, nine to PDP — results of governorship election so far | The ICIR

13 states to APC, nine to PDP — results of governorship election so far | The ICIR

The announcement of results of the 2019 governorship election held in 29 states of the federation on Saturday, March 9, is still in progress. 

While election results in six states, namely, Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Kano, Plateau, and Sokoto have been declared inconclusive for various electoral imbalances and violence, 22 states now know their new Governors-elect. The election in Rivers state was suspended over widespread violence by INEC as at the time of writing this report.

Of the 22 states where winners have been announced, 12 were re-elected. They are Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State, Emmanuel Udom of Akwa Ibom State, Ben Ayade of Cross River State, Partick Okowa of Delta State, Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State, and Ifeanyi Ugwanyi of Enugu State

Also on the list of re-elected governors are Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa state, Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state, Aminu Bello Masari of Katsina state, Abubakar Bagudu of Kebbi state, Abubakar Bello of Niger state, and Darius Ishaku of Taraba state.

The new faces in the Nigeria Governors’ Forum include Babagana Zulum of Borno state, Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe state, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara state, Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos state, and Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa state.

The rest are Emeka Ihedioha of Imo state, Dapo Abiodun of Ogun state, Seyi Makinde of Oyo state, Mai Mala Buni of Yobe state, Muktar Idris of Zamfara state.

Out of the 22 new Governors-elect, the All Progressives Congress (APC ) clinched 13 states, while the People Democratic Party (PDP) won nine states.


About admin

Check Also

JIGAWA SPEAKER: The intrigues, horse-trading that returned Garba to power

THE battle for the speakership of the Jigawa State 7th House of Assembly commenced with …

Nigeria: Jigawa Land Grabbing – Protesting Farmers Lament Arrest, Treatment By Govt

By Abubakar Ahmadu Maishanu Tension is rising in Gagarawa Local Government Area of Jigawa State …

May 29: Jigawa Govt. constitutes inauguration committee, 4 sub-committees

<!– Jigawa state Governor, Muhammad Badaru –> Jigawa state Governor, Muhammad Badaru p The Jigawa …

Over 30, 000 children blind in Jigawa

More than 30,000 children between the age of 0-14 years in primary and junior secondary …